The stuff that cream puffs are made of

Please excuse my lack of blogginess lately. I just realized that it’s been a whole month since I posted anything new. It’s not that I’ve lacked for food adventures. I just need more time! I have an eight-month-old, and it’s easy to get lost in babyland–especially since he’s started crawling. I’ll do my best to start posting at least once a week again. Thanks to my friend Tara for calling me out encouraging me to blog.

So let’s start catching up. On the Fourth of July, I celebrated the nation’s birthday as I felt all Americans should–by watching baseball and eating cream puffs. My husband and I joined friends at Safeco Field to watch the Seattle Mariners take on the Detroit Tigers.

I’d heard that Beard Papa’s–a Japanese cream puff chain that has a cult following–had just opened a location inside Safeco Field. What’s a pastry shop doing inside a baseball stadium, you ask? It makes sense when you consider that lots of Japanese baseball fans visit Safeco Field to see Ichiro. Papa Beard’s is strategically located next to the Rice n Roll sushi stand.

Anyway, I’d heard rave reviews about Beard Papa’s and had to check it out for myself. They looked and smelled great (I’ll post photos soon) but I wasn’t impressed by their taste. The pastry was nice and fluffy, but the custard was unremarkable.

Plus one cream puff cost $4.00! I realize this is probably the inflated sports stadium price, but still–I felt like Ichiro must have when he was nailed by a Kenny Rogers fastball late in the game–surprised and a little angry.

However, all I had to do was look at the charming Beard Papa’s logo, and I was soothed. It’s a cute old man with a fluffy white beard, wearing a yellow knit cap and smoking a pipe.

He seems like a kindler, gentler rendering of Ernest Hemmingway. I can’t decide whether the Beard Papa story is meant be serious or not. I find it hilarious.

Another Beard Papa’s location is opening in the Uwajimaya food court. I will definitely go there for another taste. I’m especially intrigued by the green tea cream puffs.

P.S. The Mariners won the game, 4-1.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Sweet

Leave a Reply

