Two great tastes that DON’T taste great together

When I read about a cheeseburger topped with pastrami, I knew I had to visit a Crown Burgers location in Salt Lake City. I love both cheeseburgers and pastrami and was eager to try the two together.

Well, the title of this post probably gave it away, but alas, Crown Burgers’s signature sandwich didn’t live up to my expectations. I expected the saltiness of the pastrami to bring out the flavor of the beef, but the two just overwhelmed each other.

I do like knowing that something as ridiculous as a pastrami cheeseburger exists in the world.

Crown Burgers introduced me to another new taste. I never knew regional foods included condiments until I encountered Utah’s beloved fry sauce. To me, it was merely glorified Thousand Island dressing, but to each his own, right?

I don’t even want to think what was going on in my arteries that night.

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews, Savory, So wrong, Travel

One response to “Two great tastes that DON’T taste great together

  1. Ryan

    Next time you’re in New York you’ve got to try Daniel Boulud’s $32 burger at DB Bistro. It is (from the website) “composed of an exterior of ground sirloin with a filling of boned short ribs braised in red wine, foie gras, black truffle and a mirepoix of root vegetables. The homemade bun is topped with toasted parmesan and layered with fresh horseradish mayonnaise, tomato confit, fresh tomato and frisée lettuce”. I’ve had it. Not the best $32 I ever spent but a singular and worthwhile experience. Mmmmm, burgers.

Leave a Reply

