Magically delicious?

Where I work, HR ocassionally does things to try and surprise and delight employees. Everyone might get a daffodil on their desk on the first day of spring. Popsicles may be distributed when it’s sunny and warm outside. Etc. etc.

Today is Friday the 13th, and when I walked into my office, there was a bowl of Lucky Charms cereal on my desk with a note that said, “Sending you a little LUCK in thanks for all you do!” and directions to where I might find milk.

HR succeeded in surprising me, but I found all of it a little strange, particularly the Lucky Charms. As a kid, I consumed sugar cereals on a regular basis–Cap’n Crunch, Trix, Cocoa Puffs, Cookie Crisps. But I don’t think I really ate Lucky Charms. Because I didn’t eat the cereal during my sugar-saturated youth and have no fond memories of it, Lucky Charms seems really gross now I’m a health-conscious adult.

And some of the marshmallow “charms” just don’t make any sense to me. In today’s bowl, I readily identified a leprechaun’s hat, a rainbow, a horsehoe and a shooting star. But then I saw a balloon and an hourglass. Huh?

In the end it all comes down to taste. So I poured milk over the cereal and took a bite. It was so weird to taste healthy toasted oats and super sugary marshmallows at the same time. It reinforced my distaste for food products (especially those for kids) that are loaded with sugar and chemicals but supposedly are nutritious too. (I’m looking at you, Diet Coke Plus!)

2 Comments

Filed under Sweet

2 responses to “Magically delicious?

  1. Katherine

    This cracks me up…It was partly my idea! I was just trying to keep the recognition committee from giving everyone valentines day candies! (Because some of us don’t like valentines day!)

  2. mrsmoy

    And some of us don’t like sugar cereal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

