“I got some ice cream…”

I went to college in St. Paul, Minnesota and lived through two of the coldest winters ever, which is saying something in that part of America. One record temperature was -75 degrees. So understandably, all of the ice cream shops in St. Paul would be closed during the winter because no one really one more frozen thing.

I always hated this though because I like the act of going somewhere for ice cream. Sure, you can buy it at the store and bring it home. That has its own comfort. But going out for ice cream is one those rare things that makes almost everyone happy.

Nowhere was this more evident than at the recent grand opening of Seattle “ice cream boutique” Molly Moon’s second location in the Capitol Hill neighborhood.

The line that snaked down the sidewalk included sleepy college students, Goth couples, pierced punk rockers, parents with babies strapped to their chests and aging hipsters.

Everyone was giddy. No one was complaining about how long the line was. Children were exuberant but well-behaved. Couples were more in love than ever.

This is the power of going out for ice cream.

My friend Sharon and I tried three flavors that day: salted black licorice, strawberry balsamic and pomegranate curry sorbet. I don’t even like black licorice, but I wanted to at least see how Molly Moon’s would approach this flavor. Maybe years of hating the strong anise flavor would suddenly fall away after my first taste of ice cream. It didn’t–but the salt did add an interesting element and made it at least palatable. Sharon loved it.

I preferred the pomegranate curry sorbet. I didn’t know what to expect from this flavor combo and was pleasantly surprised. It was too strong to eat more than a couple of bites on its own (no way would I ever want this in a waffle cone), but I could definitely see myself enjoying this sorbet after say, a great Indian dinner.

Strawberry balsamic is a Molly Moon’s staple, and with good reason. It’s a nice balance of sweet and tangy.

And now, for all of you Eddie Murphy fans who think of this first when you hear the words “ice cream…”

Does Eddie still rock leather suits? And do more people in America now know him from his work in “The Nutty Professor” and “Shrek” than in “Delirious” and “Raw”?

1 Comment

Filed under Ice cream

One response to ““I got some ice cream…”

  1. Pingback: It’s impossible to eat ice cream and be … « What are you eating?

Leave a Reply

