Bluebird is no fly-by-night operation

Since I’m training for a half marathon, probably the last thing I should be eating is snickerdoodle ice cream. But there I was last night at Bluebird Homemade Ice Cream & Tea Room enjoying a scoop. I had also gotten a kids-size scoop of chocolate pudding ice cream for my son, and he did eat much of it, but let’s be honest–it was really for me!

Bluebird is located in Seattle’s Capitol Hill neighborhood in an area that is also home to Molly Moon’s and Old School Frozen Custard. That’s a lot of frozen dairy for essentially a four-block radius, but each shop has its unique character and treats.

Bluebird definitely has the best space. There’s ample seating, and all of the furniture has a story. Much of it is made from reclaimed materials. In addition to ice cream, it serves sandwiches, pastries and a wide variety of teas.

The snickerdoodle ice cream was way too sweet for me, but I really enjoyed the chocolate pudding ice cream. It was velvety smooth and had a deep cocoa flavor.

Definitely worth going an extra mile for.

4 Comments

Filed under Ice cream, Reviews, Sweet

4 responses to “Bluebird is no fly-by-night operation

  1. you have this habit of eating at places two blocks from me and not calling! sadface.

    just kidding. you’re training for a half marathon??

    • mrsmoy

      Sorry, next time I’m eating on Capitol Hill, you will get a call!

      I’m training for the Seattle Half-Marathon in November.

  2. oh – and i hearted the stout ice cream

  3. Kara

    Went to Pie Cora and Old School Frozen Custard last Friday.

    That was a tasty day!

Leave a Reply

