Attention: Bacon on a skewer

Yes, that’s right. I said bacon on a skewer.

This totally random but tasty food can be found at TIG Asian Tapas Bar in Seattle’s Pioneer Square.

My friends and I were lured in to TIG by the promise of a 4:00-10:00 p.m. (!) happy hour. What we found was a extensive menu of Korean dishes and sushi rolls. The happy hour pricing is impressive, with some items only costing $2 (including said bacon). And there is no beverage minimum.

There is also no false advertising. We ordered bacon on a skewer, and that’s exactly what it was–one thick piece of bacon pierced by a stick and drizzled with hoisin sauce (I guess to make it qualify as an Asian tapas).

If you want to take things to the next bacon-y level, there’s also spicy bacon on a skewer. My guess is that it’s fatty pork goodness covered with sriracha.

I also had a salmon and avocado sushi roll and an enormous seafood pancake, which only cost me $7 total. The food was decent but unremarkable.

TIG is one of those restaurants that makes you wonder how in the world it stays in business. My two friends and I were the only people in TIG besides our server and the bartender. Korean pop music blared while completely unrelated videos screened on the wall by our table. I guess it does a lot of business on the weekend when it turns into more of a nightclub. That would explain the miserable state of the women’s bathroom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Savory

Leave a Reply

