Come fly with me

This time last week, I was headed to Washington, D.C. on business, and I was not looking forward to the trip at all. Flying from Seattle to the East Coast is a grueling affair. Even if you’re excited about your destination, it’s long–no matter the amount of reading material, Sudoku puzzles, iPod playlists or DVDs you bring with you.

It does help to have good food.

I didn’t have time to pack a lunch before my flight so I stopped by Dish D’Lish at Sea-Tac Airport, which has a good selection of fresh and light foods. I picked up a yogurt and granola parfait, a tarragon and chicken salad sandwich, and two salads: an orange, feta and fennel salad with greens, and a couscous salad with dried fruit and toasted hazelnuts. (That is a lot of food, but I was going to be traveling for at least seven hours.)

I always get the couscous salad when I fly. It’s filling but not heavy so it’s the perfect thing to eat before getting on a plane and having to sit for several hours. And because it really doesn’t need to be refrigerated, you can toss it in your bag and save it for later.

I especially appreciated having stocked up on this food during my layover in the Kansas City, Missouri airport, which has a dearth of decent restaurants (I was highly disappointed I couldn’t get any barbecue there) as well as the most asinine security set-up I have ever encountered. I got off my flight and walked about 10 feet and then went out a door. I was then told I had to go back through security to get to the gate to my connecting flight. So I took a right turn, walked about 10 feet over to the next door, went through security and headed to my gate (which was almost right next to the original gates I had exited. Yes–I essentially walked in a complete circle.

I didn’t get into a full-blown rage thanks to Midwest Airlines. I had never flown with them before, and I was very impressed by the on-time flights, clean planes, and friendly and helpful staff. The warm chocolate chip cookies they serve onboard for free are pretty great too.

I arrived in Washington, D.C. around 10:30 p.m., extremely glad that my friend Olivia would be picking me up at the airport and that I would be staying at her place instead of a lonely hotel room.

I had the Dish D’Lish couscous salad the next morning for breakfast. It was nice to wake up to something familiar in a city far from home.

Couscous salad with dried fruit and toasted hazelnuts from Dish D'Lish

3 Comments

Filed under Savory, Sweet, Travel

3 responses to “Come fly with me

  1. Lynn

    I have to say, I LOVE the Dish D’Lish yogurt parfait! I get it every time I fly out of Seattle, whatever the time of day.

  2. m

    I had the cous cous when I was traveling through Seattle, and it was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. Thanks for posting the pic, too — I emailed Kathy Casey’s office to see if they would provide me with even an ingredient list so I could try to make it on my own, and they declined. So now I have something to work with!

  3. Nola

    That couscous salad IS amazing. I get it every time leave SeaTac. I sometimes even buy one or two on my way home to have the next day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

