Is Washington, D.C. the capital of cupcakes?

When I was in Washington, D.C. last week, it seemed like no matter where I was in the city, there was a cupcake shop nearby. I unexpectedly managed to visit two of the top shops in the DC area.

After wrapping up a business meeting in Georgetown, I had some time to walk around the area. My friend had told me that I visit Georgetown Cupcake. I asked my DC colleagues about it, and they recommended that I visit Baked and Wired instead.

When I headed out on my own, I had the address of Baked and Wired but no map or directions so I didn’t think I would find it. But after walking for a few minutes, I found myself right in front of the shop.

I loved the way they display the baked goods under glass–especially the cupcakes.

Cupcake and other baked goods on display counter at Baked and Wires in Washington, D.C.

I decided to try a strawberry cupcake. The cake itself was a white cake embedded with strawberries, and the frosting was a very rich strawberry buttercream. The cake was moist and had a good texture, and while I liked the flavor of the buttercream, it was way too buttery for me. I like an equal ratio of sugar and butter in my frosting.

Capital Pride was going on while I was in Washington, D.C., and Baked and Wired showed its support with this lovely rainbow unicorn.

Rainbow unicorn sidewalk chalk drawing in front of Baked and Wired in Washington, D.C. Caption under unicorn says, "Show your pride with cupcakes and giggles."

Remember that show “Sugar Rush” on Food Network? It featured Warren Brown, a Washington, D.C. lawyer who decided to switch careers and open a bakery called CakeLove.

I didn’t remember that CakeLove is in DC until I ran across it while my friend and I were walking on U Street.

Unfortunately it was closed, but then I saw just across the street a place called “Love Cafe.” It is related to CakeLove and offers espresso, sandwiches, salads and of course sweets.

Baked goods at Love Cafe in Washington, D.C.

Everything looked great, and I had a really hard time deciding what to get. I finally chose an orange and chocolate cupcake (I had this flavor of cupcakes at my wedding).

I didn’t get around to eating the cupcake until three days later back in Seattle. I was a little hesitant about eating a not-so-fresh baked good that had traveled thousands of miles, but it seemed like a shame to throw it away.

The cupcake had survived because it was nestled in parchment paper and in a sturdy plastic box. When I unwrapped the paper, I was immediately hit by a fragrant burst of orange from the buttercream. I bit into the cake, and it was unbelievably moist and chocolately.

What a great souvenir.

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews, Sweet, Travel

4 responses to “Is Washington, D.C. the capital of cupcakes?

  1. I feel like the west coast is littered with cupcake shops as well. I’m wondering when the trend will fade, or if it ever will…

  2. mrsmoy

    I feel that one of the biggest food differences between the East Coast and the West Coast is that there are more high quality bakeries in more places. It’s more likely out east for individual neighborhoods to have their own bakery.

    There are definitely great bakeries in Seattle, but not every neighborhood has one, and I can only think of a handful off the top of my head. People often go to the supermarket to buy baked goods or make their own.

    I was very surprised to see the cupcake craze was still going strong in Washington, D.C. It really did feel like there was a cupcake shop on every street corner. There’s definitely been a backlash against cupcakes, but the fad will probably never completely die out, especially if the economy continues to remain hard, the wars drag on, etc. etc. People like small comforts that remind them of their childhood.

  3. Pingback: D.C. Cupcakes? I’d rather watch D.C. Cab. « Edible Joy

  4. oolivia

    love the unicorn!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

