Name that deep-fried food

Deep fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich

A few weeks ago at the Ballard Seafood Fest, my friend Nicole and I encountered this deep-fried treat, which has absolutely nothing to do with the ocean so I was a little mystified about why it was at a seafood festival. But hey–elephant ears are everywhere and nobody makes a fuss.

I’ve seen all kinds of deep-fried foods, but this was the first time I had even heard of this particular item. It certainly wouldn’t have occurred to me to drop one of these in a Fry Daddy. At first it sounded totally disgusting, and then I was intrigued. Nicole and I agreed to split half of one.

So what did we have?

Peanut Butter Goodness Deep Fried PB & J's

That’s right folks, a deep-fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I thought the fried PB&J would be heavy and greasy, but it was surprisingly light because of the batter, which is a secret recipe.

So who in health-conscious Seattle would make such a thing? The man with the fryer basket in his hand is Sahara Anthony Jr., the owner of Sandlot Sandwiches. And in case you were wondering, yes, he does cater individual parties.

Men deep frying peanut butter and jelly sandwiches

4 Comments

Filed under Sweet

4 responses to “Name that deep-fried food

  1. Oh my! I love anything deep-fried but deep-fried pb&j sandwiches, I think I just had a heart attack! 🙂 But I have to try this at least once!

  2. Elisha Walton

    Hello and thanks for the write up on our product.(Deep Fried PBJ) We appreciate all of the kind words. Look forward to seeing us this year.2011…..

    Thanks again,
    Fry Daddy

  3. Craig

    Outstanding. I had the DFPB&J with raspberry jam. Awesome. I look forward to many more!!!!

Leave a Reply

