What’s in the Box?

The other day I was working from home when I heard a soft knock on our front door. When I opened the door, I found a small package left by the FedEx delivery person. I picked it up and scanned the package. It was addressed to me, but I didn’t recognize the name on the return address. And then I got excited when I realized that it was for the Pacific Northwest Bloggers box swap.

Laura Railing of Bits of Sweetness organized the “My Favorite Things” box swap, which she describes as a “fun way to get to know other sweet people and bless them with a box of things they’ll love!”

Once you sign up for the box swap, Laura matches you up with another blogger and sends you their information and suggested favorites. Then you look at their blog or Instagram account to get to know them better and to get ideas of what to put in their box. Items can be new, thrifted, or handmade, and the dollar limit is $15.

When I was a kid, I loved having pen pals, and the box swap has the same allure of getting to know people I would never otherwise meet and the anticipation of getting fun things in the mail.

For my favorite things under $15, I had listed books, caramels, small notebooks, notecards and other stationery, small picture frames, cool drink coasters, coffee mugs, and movie passes.

My box was from Rachel Roland of Small Steps On Our Journey, and the contents included:

  • 2 books, “Micro” by Michael Crichton and “The Great Divorce” by C.S. Lewis
  • 4×6 photo frame
  • Notepad and mini clipboard
  • Pens
  • Recipe cards
  • Reusable shopping bag
  • Nail polish
  • Godiva Caramel Supreme Bars

Pacific Northwest Bloggers box swap

I love all of the items, and I’m especially excited about reading “The Great Divorce.” Thanks, Rachel!

1 Comment

Filed under Events, NaBloPoMo 2013

One response to “What’s in the Box?

  1. This is such a perfect post! What a wonderful box to get! I LOVE CS Lewis. I would be all over that! Ahh. fun!

Leave a Reply

