What We Keep

Birthday figruine

I have few mementos from when I was a child, but for some reason I’ve held on to this figurine. I believe it’s the cake topper from my 5th birthday cake.

Despite wearing an ill-fitting and worn dress and having no shoes, she looks hopeful and inquisitive. I often wondered if she was poor or just lost—like some fairy tale heroine. She has a doll so she’s not alone.

I wore my hair in two stubby pigtails like her when I was little, and I remember that even though she was a blonde white girl, I identified with her. Maybe she was the closest version of me that my mom could find at the time.

1 Comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo 2013

One response to “What We Keep

  1. Pingback: lamiki » Blog Archive » National Blog Posting Month Writing Prompts: One through Nine

Leave a Reply

