My For the Glow Journey with Jenn Jordan

It’s 5:30 in the morning. I’m in my basement staring bleary-eyed at my laptop, and I’m sweating—a lot—as I do my best to follow an online workout video.

After completing a particularly grueling set of exercises, the instructor takes a quick break on her mat. She catches her breath and says, “I don’t enjoy that. Not at all.”

The moment makes me laugh because it is exactly what I was thinking. It also inspires me because right after the instructor says this, she launches into another set of challenging moves.

This is Jenn Jordan and For the Glow.

Jenn Jordan is tall, fit, and goofy. She likes to make jokes about kale and is a huge fan of both “The Golden Girls” and Lionel Richie. In addition, Jenn is a certified nutritionist and exercise scientist who has dedicated the last 15 years of her life to helping people become healthier and stronger. She provides an online library of workouts, meal plans, and coaching when you join her website, For the Glow.

At the start of the new year, I—like millions of other people—resolved to start exercising more, eat better, and lose weight. I needed a holistic plan of action, and I found it in the For the Glow Resolution Challenge.

The Resolution Challenge is a 6-week program that starts with a 10-day detox diet. After the gluttonous holiday season, abstaining from meat, dairy, and sugars, and loading up veggies and other nutrient-dense foods was just what my body needed.

Butternut squash, bell pepper, and red cabbage salad with quinoa

Butternut squash, bell pepper, and red cabbage salad with quinoa

After the detox came Jenn’s Superfood Diet, which is basically the detox diet with more fruit and grains. I had previously completed the For the Glow Spring Cleanse, but I was unsure if I could sustain clean eating habits for 4 to 5 weeks.

I found that even though I was on a “diet,” my universe of food expanded. I enjoyed trying many new recipes, including Deliciously Ella’s quinoa pizza.

Quinoa pizza with butternut squash, spinach, and mushrooms

Quinoa pizza with butternut squash, spinach, and mushrooms

Jenn’s daily Resolution Challenge workouts ranged from 30-60 minutes. They were intense but doable. Jenn is based in Seattle so once a week, I also had the pleasure to work out with her and other “Glows” in person.

Post-workout green smoothie

One of many post-workout green smoothies

Whenever I considered eating something unhealthy or not working out, I thought about how Jenn would say, “If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.” And I would eat kale instead of a cupcake and I would do another set of burpees. It was hard because it mattered.

My favorite part of the Resolution Challenge was joining the community of awesome For the Glow women across the United States. Through Facebook and Instagram, we shared advice, made jokes, swapped recipes, supported each other when facing challenges, and celebrated victories small and large.

At the end of the Resolution Challenge, I was halfway to my overall weight loss goal for 2014, and I was consistently working out 6 days a week. I had gained knowledge about food and fitness and the confidence to create a plan for myself that works. I am most proud about encouraging family to share my new healthy habits. My 6-year-old son eats kale!

My son eats kale

Thanks to Jenn Jordan and For the Glow, I’ve learned to shed self-doubt, to be comfortable in my own skin, to really believe in my own strength, and to hold plank like a boss.

Six months after my New Year’s Resolution, I’m now a lifetime member of For the Glow, and I’m looking forward to where it will take me next.

2 Comments

Filed under For the Glow, So right

2 responses to “My For the Glow Journey with Jenn Jordan

  1. Kat

    This is awesome! Congrats on getting halfway to your weight loss goal! Thanks to for the glow, my two year old loves green smoothies.

  2. Madeline Moy

    Thanks, Kat! I really like that my husband and son have embraced healthy habits too.

Leave a Reply

